July Wrap-Up and August TBR!

First off, I did not do a June wrap-up. That is due to failing and only reading Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan. (4.5/5 Stars). With that out-of-the-way, let us move onto July!

July Wrap-Up!

I feel I did pretty well in July, reading a total of 10 books (and getting half way through 3). I read 7 novels and 3 graphic novels! Like usual, I will start with my least favorite and work to my favorite read of the month!

10. The Confession by R. L. Stine.

the confession.jpg

My least favorite read of the month was most definitely The Confession by R. L. Stine. This follows a group of friends who are being bullied and black mailed by someone who turns up dead. One of them admits to the murder, promising it won’t happen again. That is all I can say… (Not spoilers, this is on the back.) I use to read Fear Street novels a lot back in Middle School, so I decided to read this one. I really did not enjoy it and felt it was weak compared to the others. Barely anything happened, and I had to force myself through it. 

My Rating: 1.75/5 Stars. 


9. Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carroll.

through the looking glass.jpg

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland is one of my favorite classics, so I thought I would enjoy this one for sure… I was wrong. This wasn’t terrible, but it was nowhere near as great as the first. I felt like it was more confusing and all together just not as fun. I did enjoy the plot of Wonderland being a chess board, and I felt this one made you think like the first. Other than that, I was not too happy with this.

My Rating: 2.75/5 Stars.


8. The Thirst by R. L. Stine. 

The thirst

This was the 3rd book in the Fear Street Seniors Series. This is a series I really love, and this book was no different from the rest. The quality of writing is not the best, but the writing is not why people read R. L. Stine, so I feel this book achieved what it was going for. 

My Rating: 3/5 Stars.


7. Lumberjanes, Volume 1 by Noelle Stevenson.

lumberjanes.jpg

This is a graphic novel Series I know a lot of people love, so I felt it was about time I read it. I loved it. It reminded me of a slightly more mature version of Gravity Falls. This book also features LGBT characters, which is always a massive pro. I actually did not enjoy the art style as much as I thought I would, but I feel that it is something I will grow to love as I continue. My only other complaint is that I still feel like I do not know much about the characters, so I look forward to learning about them throughout the series.

My Rating: 4/5 Stars.


6. Amulet, Volume 2: The Stonekeeper’s Curse by Kazu Kibuishi.

amulet 2 

This is the second addition to the Amulet Series. This being a series from my childhood, I do not remember it being this dark. It is an aspect that I adore in this series, and I feel that the plot is so whimsical that it could go anywhere. Excited to continue!

My Rating: 4/5 Stars.


5. The Selection by Kiera Cass.

the selection

The Selection follows America, a girl who is in love with a boy. After being chosen for a competition called the selection, one in which she must win the heart of the prince against 34 other girls, she must reluctantly leave her boyfriend to compete. Upon getting to know the prince, she is unsure of what she really wants. Sorry for my super vague description… oops. 

This is a series people either love or hate, and I was lucky enough to be on the side that really enjoyed it. I really enjoyed America and LOVED Maxon, but I was not a huge fan of Aspen. I did feel a lot of the characters fell flat, and could definitely have been developed better.

My Rating: 4.25/5 Stars.


4. Saga, Volume 2 by Brian K. Vaughan.

saga 2.png

This is my all time favorite graphic novel series… The characters are amazing, the creatures are creepy, the plot is well-developed. It is as easy to follow as a novel, which is sometimes something graphic novel series can not do. Loved it. 

My Rating: 4.5/5 Stars.


3. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. 

Vampire Academy

Another popular series I am late to the party of. I finally picked this book up and LOVED IT!!!! I am not a huge fan of vampires, but this book changed me, I am a different person… Just kidding, but I do have a different view of vampires. I do have a full, cohesive review of this book. Check it out!

Vampire Academy Review!

My Rating: 4.5/5 Stars.


2. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. 

TFIOS

I say John Green is one of my favorite authors, yet I have not read his most popular novel. That has now changed, and may I add thAT I SHOULD HAVE READ THIS SOONER. The only reason I held back was because I was spoiled, but that did not even matter. I still felt all the emotions, and will continue to think about this book forever and ever and ever. It did not beat Looking For Alaska, though.

My Rating: 5/5 Stars. 


1. The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson. 

The unespected everything

This is the second wrap-up in a row that a Morgan Matson book was my favorite. What a surprise! This book was amazing, it had nothing that I straight up did not like, which is VERY hard for me to like everything in a novel. The characters were amazing, the plot was great, the setting was relaxing and summary, all in all I can not complain. I feel like a broken record when talking about Matson books, but ugh they are so good. 

Full Review!

My Rating: 5/5 Stars.

If there are any of these books you would like to see a full review for, let me know in the comment section below! I will definitely be reviewing some more!

Before I get to my TBR, I wanted to mention that I am currently reading The Cellar by Natasha Preston and The Titans Curse by Rick Riordan. 


August TBR!

I have accumulated a pile of books I have started but put down for one reason or another, so I will just add those to my TBRs until I finish them all. They are…

Scarlet by Marissa Meyer (Reading Since February)

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken (Reading Since March)

The Last star by Rick Yancey (Reading Since June)

Me Before You by Jojo Moyes (Reading Since June)

Summer Days and Summer Nights edited by Stephanie Perkins (Reading Since July)

None of these books are bad, I just either took a break or completely forgot I was reading them… anyways, now to my loose TBR! (I decided to just mention the books I am reading for review and my book club books. Other than that, I will just read what I feel like reading aha!)

1. The Sunlight Pilgrims Jenni Fagan. 

tsp.jpg

I will be reading this book for review. All I know is it follows a man trying to survive an apocalyptic winter type disaster. He ends up running into a mother-daughter survival team… that is all I know! I am not even sure if that is correct, so do not quote me on it! 😉

2. The Shining by Stephen King. 

the shining

A friend and I decided to buddy read a Stephen King book every month, and this is our book for August! Excited to begin!

3. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. 

Pride and Prejudice.jpg

I decided to join the Austentatious book club, hosted by ReadByZoe on YouTube, where we read one Jane Austen novel every month for the next 6 months. This is the first one! I actually am not even sure what it is about… we will see!

4. This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab. 

This Savage Song

This is definitely the book I am most excited to read in August. It is for a YA book club I am a part of on BooksAmino. This follows a city where for every crime committed, there is a monster released. That is honestly all I know/ want to know… 

This wraps up all of the books I have to read in August. Obviously I will try to read more, but these are all of the books I must read! Let me know down below if you will be/have already read any of these, I would love to hear your opinions!

7 thoughts on “July Wrap-Up and August TBR!

  1. thebookprophet says:

    I’m glad you ended up enjoying the selection. Maxon is definitely my favorite, no question. The characters develop a lot more in the next books. I still haven’t read Vampire Academy or Tfios. I saw Tfios movie and read the first few chapters of the book but haven’t read the entire thing. I should some day but there are just other books I would rather read. What do you think of Scarlet, The Last Star, and Me Before You so far? I haven’t picked up The Last Star yet, but I’ve read and really enjoyed both Scarlet and Me Before You.

    Liked by 1 person

    • jakedoesbooks says:

      I am having a REALLY hard time getting through Scarlet (As you can tell since I have been reading since February…) but I need to push through and finish… Only have like 130 pages left. As for Me Before You, it may be a DNF, I am not sure though. The Last Star is good so far… better tha The Infinite Sea, but not as good as the 5th Wave… We will see!

      Liked by 1 person

      • thebookprophet says:

        I’ve been hearing the exact same thing about The Last Star everywhere. I LOVED The 5th Wave, and then whenever The Infinite Sea came along I couldn’t wait to read it. My sister ended up reading it first and she said it was awful, so I read it and hated it too. I have hope for the last one, though. I hope it doesn’t let me down.
        I watched the Me Before You movie first, which may have made me read it faster, I don’t know, but I was also travelling during the time I read it and I had already finished another book, so it was the only book I could read to pass the time. Maybe that has to do with it as well, nonetheless, I enjoyed it.
        I didn’t like Scarlet as much as I liked Cinder, and it did take me longer than necessary to read it, but overall I enjoyed it.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

