The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson// Review

The unespected everything

The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson

Published by Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers on May 3rd, 2016.

Genre(s): Contemporary. 

My Format and Page Count: Hardcover// 519 Pages.

Buy on Amazon


Summary:

Andie had it all planned out.

When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.

Important internship? Check.

Amazing friends? Check.

Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life.

Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected.

And where’s the fun in that?

“You have to try. You have to take your chances. Go and attempt and see what happens. And even if you fail – especially if you fail – come back with your experience and your hard-won knowledge and a story you can tell. And then later you can say, without regret or hesitation… ‘Once, I dared to dare greatly”


My Thoughts:

Back in May I read Second Chance Summer which was my first Morgan Matson book. I immediately fell in love. This book just confirmed the love I have for not only Matson’s writing, but her creativity as well. There were a lot of elements in this book that did not come off as cookie cutter YA contemporary, and I appreciate this oh so much. I am not sure whether I liked it more than Second Chance Summer, but the two are definitely very close. 

Pros:

  • The Characters: It is fairly safe to assume that this will be a positive in all of my Matson book reviews. Morgan Matson has this ability to create such in-depth characters that come across as real and easy to relate with. They struggle with some of the same problems we do, such as appearance, family deaths, grades, etc. I do enjoy the fact that they also can be naive at times because I can definitely say I can be the same way. The whole friend group had their own quirks, and were not the same person. Andie, the main character, was very *everything must be planned and perfect* at the beginning, so it was interesting to watch her expand and develop throughout the course of this novel. All in all her characters are some of my favorite from the contemporary genre. 
  • The Plot: Young adult contemporary rarely touches politics, so I found this book to be pretty unique in that respect. Although the “perfect characters does have flaws, and must try to figure out what they are going to do” trope was present in this book, but it didn’t bother me as much as it usually does. 
  • The Friendship: I really enjoyed the friendship element of this book. Most books show all of the useless arguing friend groups hold, but this book brought up how all friend groups, more specifically female friend groups, are not all about fights and drama. There was some arguments which I will not get into, but for the most part they were just, well… friends.
  • The Romance: (SPOILER? I DON’T THINK SO, BUT JUST IN CASE WARNING!) Unlike Second Chance Summer, I really enjoyed the romance within this book. Clark, the romantic interest, was not just some handsome, athletic dude. He was an author who was also pretty geeky. I feel that he was a relatable character to myself at least because I was never very into sports, so I always would go the creative route. I enjoyed the way Andie and Clark interacted. 
  • The Writing: Morgan Matson’s writing is very simple and easy to get into. It is great for the contemporary genre, although I would enjoy to see her try a new genre.

*** SPOILER SECTION BEGINS ***

I will now be discussing a few spoilery topics. For my rating and such scroll to the bottom!

  • Andie and Topher’s Relationship: I was really not a fan of this relationship. I felt that other than warning Andie about her dad’s speech, Topher was a pretty useless character. I did not enjoy their relationship because it seemed childish and disrespectful to their previous and future relationships. This is really the only negative of this book. 
  • Bri and Wyatt’s Relationship: I actually really liked this couple, although I did call it as soon as they were late for the scavenger hunt. I believe that Bri should have said something sooner, but Toby was way out of line in the way she reacted, and this breaking their friendship was ridiculous. 
  • Bri and Toby’s Friendship: I thought their friendship was real, and them breaking apart due to a relationship was ridiculous. They were best friends for so long, and all of a sudden they are not. I can’t even put into words how annoyed I was… 

*** SPOILER SECTION ENDS***

Overall, I really enjoyed this book like I thought I would. I will be reading Since You’ve Been Gone really soon, and I am super pumped since it seems to be the fan favorite! 

My Rating: 

5 stars

There were aspects that I discussed in the spoiler section that I did not enjoy, but they were minor and this book was great. 5/5 Stars for sure. 

Would I Recommend? 

– Not only would I recommend this book, but I would recommend anything by Morgan Matson.

I hope you enjoyed my review! Let me know what you thought of The Unexpected Everything!

Leave a Reply

