Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead// Review

Vampire Academy

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Published by Razorbill on August 16th, 2007.

Genre(s): Paranormal Fantasy.

My Format and Page Count: Paperback// 332 Pages.

Buy on Amazon

(There will be a spoiler section, but I will make it VERY obvious when that territory is being entered!)

Summary:

Lissa Dragomir is a Moroi princess: a mortal vampire with a rare gift for harnessing the earth’s magic. She must be protected at all times from Strigoi; the fiercest vampires – the ones who never die. The powerful blend of human and vampire blood that flows through Rose Hathaway, Lissa’s best friend, makes her a dhampir. Rose is dedicated to a dangerous life of protecting Lissa from the Strigoi, who are hell-bent on making Lissa one of them.

After two years of freedom, Rose and Lissa are caught and dragged back to St. Vladimir’s Academy, a school for vampire royalty and their guardians-to-be, hidden in the deep forests of Montana. But inside the iron gates, life is even more fraught with danger . . . and the Strigoi are always close by.

Rose and Lissa must navigate their dangerous world, confront the temptations of forbidden love, and never once let their guard down, lest the evil undead make Lissa one of them forever . . .

“Only a true best friend can protect you from your immortal enemies.”

My Thoughts:

This was one of those books I heard about on booktube, but was very dreary of. Vampires are definitely not my thing, but upon reading this book I want to read more! I was scared to read this because I had this feeling I was going to hate it, but it was so good and definitely almost lived up to the hype. It was no 5 star book, but it definitely deserves the praise is receives, but maybe not as much hype.

Pros:

  • The Setting: I love any book that has a school setting (Thanks HP), so I already had at least one thing motivating me to read this book. I enjoyed how even though they are vampires, all of the cliques and high schoolesque things still exist. Sometimes the school and its inhabitants did become a little bit cliché but this book is just pure fun.
  • Strong Female Characters: This book has not one but multiple kick ass female characters. A lot of books tend to have male characters do all of the saving, but this book expresses how a woman can do anything just as good as a man. 
  • The Plot: Although the plot was not really anything special, I did really enjoy it. Mead took a plot that is done all the time and put her own, fun twist on it. I am hoping it expands throughout the rest of the novels, though.
  • The Love Interest: There was not really any relationship in this book that was spot lighted, but I did enjoy Rose’s love interest which is something I normally am not a fan of. (A lot of YA romances are the same)

Indifferent:

  • The Characters: Before I get into this, I want to say that I did enjoy the characters. I even loved some of them, but as far as this book in the series go they were not developed as well as I would have liked to see. Rose I feel did have some development, but she continued to stay the same throughout the book, instead of learning and picking up on what had to be done. I do still believe she was a great character, though. My biggest problem development wise was Lissa. I feel like Lissa was a very boring character despite her being the main Moroi in this novel, and that she had little to know development throughout this novel. She may receive more in the future, but as of now she really needs it. I did like the rest of the characters, even though a few came off very tropey. 
  • The Writing: The reason it is in the indifferent is because I did not hate it, I just felt it wasn’t very mature. The sentence structure tended to stay simple and the same. It was not terrible, but it could use some work. (I do believe she improved in her future works, though.)

*Spoiler section begins, skip to bottom for rating!*

I do have a couple spoilery topics to discuss, so let’s begin! 

  • Lissa’s Power: I did enjoy the reveal of Lissa’s power, and I thought it was a very well done “twist”. I had some interest in the characters that previously had this power, and even though it was very obvious she wasn’t going to excel in one of the four core powers, I did still enjoy the reveal. I have no clue what I even said just now, what a mess.
  • Plot Twist: Although it was probably fairly obvious, I was SHOCKED when it was revealed that not only was her uncle the one who was coming after Lissa, but he had Natalie turn strigoi as well. I thought this ending was brilliant, and I was a bit sad because I took a liking to Natalie. 

*End of Spoiler Section*

Overall, this novel surprised me a lot. I enjoyed it very much, and will definitely be continuing in the series. There were no cons to this book, although I was iffy on a few things, but for the most part it was a solid book.

My Rating:

4 stars.png

I originally was going to give it a 4.5/5 Stars, but I do think there is a bit of room for improvement, but it was a super fun read!

Would I Recommend? 

– This is a book that I would recommend to everyone, but if you are not a vampire fan I especially recommend it to you. It is not the stereotypical vampire novel, and it may change your mind!

Thanks for reading 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

